information Pat Metheny and the American Beat https//

Pat Metheny and the American Beat
Thursday, Mar. 30 – 8:00 pm
Bramwell Tovey – Conductor
Ricardo Morales – Clarinet
Christopher Deviney – Vibraphone
She-e Wu – Marimba
Michael Jones – Tenor
Daniel Schwartz – Tenor
Bernstein – Prelude, Fugue, and Riffs for Solo Clarinet and Jazz Ensemble
Metheny – Duo Concerto for Vibraphone and Marimba
Dvorák – Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95 (“From the New World”)
Thursday, March 30, 2017
8:00 PMVERIZON HALLPrincipal Percussion Christopher Deviney calls 20-time Grammy winner Pat Metheny and his composing partner Lyle Mays the “most important duo to come along since George and Ira Gershwin.” Deviney has orchestrated three Metheny jazz tunes into an all-new percussion concerto starring She-e Wu on marimba and himself on vibraphone. “To have a solo is a dream come true but to then premiere it with The Philadelphia Orchestra—my own orchestra—is beyond what I ever thought would happen,” he says. Audience favorite conductor Bramwell Tovey brings his impresario’s touch to a clever program that combines the world premiere with Dvorák’s lofty final symphony—“From the New World” indeed, as it was written in New York City—and Bernstein’s jazz-infused Prelude, Fugue, and Riffs, a jazz-hall style work for clarinet and orchestra premiered by Benny Goodman.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.